The Sylva Herald, By Kelly Morgan

Concerts on the Creek are typically held every Friday night from 7-9 p.m. at the Bridge Park in Sylva, from Memorial Day through Labor Day weekends. However, the concerts have been postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

On June 24 Gov. Roy Cooper announced that Phase 2 of Covid-19 restrictions will be extended until at least July 17.

In light of these restrictions, organizers are further postponing the 11th season of Concerts on the Creek until at least July 17. Some of the earlier concerts have been rescheduled for Saturdays later in the season.

The tentative updated schedule is as follows:

Friday, July 17 – Summer & Bray of Mountain Faith, (bluegrass/gospel).

Saturday, July 18 – Bohemian Jean (classic hits and originals).

Friday, July 24 – Darren Nicholson Band (classic country/bluegrass/americana).

Saturday, July 25 – Mile High Band (classic rock/country).

Friday, July 31 – Tuxedo Junction (classic hits).

Saturday, Aug. 1– Terri Lynn Queen, Tim Queen and Scott Baker (classic hits).

Friday, Aug. 7 – Dashboard Blue (classic hits).

Saturday, Aug. 8 – Eleanor Underhill & Friends (americana).

Friday, Aug. 14 – Jonah Riddle & Carolina Express (bluegrass/gospel).

Saturday, Aug. 15 – The Rewind House Band (classic rock hits).

Friday, Aug. 21 – The Get Right Band (funk/rock).

Saturday, Aug. 22 – Shane Meade & The Sound (soul/rock/funk).

Friday, Aug. 28 – Arnold Hill Band (rock/country/americana).

Saturday, Aug. 29 – Keil Nathan Smith Band (classic rock/country).

Friday, Sept. 4: – Daddy Rabbit (blues/rock).

Saturday, Sept. 5 – SKA City (ska/two tone/trojan rocksteady).

The final schedule will depend on how and when the governor lifts restrictions on crowd sizes.

These events are free but donations are encouraged. Everyone is also encouraged to bring a chair or blanket. Dogs must be kept on a leash, and no alcohol, smoking or coolers are allowed in the park.

Organizers strongly suggest that everyone obeys safe COVID-19 practices, which include social distancing (staying at least 6 apart), using hand sanitizer when possible, and wearing protective face coverings/masks.

These concerts are organized and produced by the Jackson County Chamber of Commerce, the town of Sylva and the Jackson County Parks and Recreation Department.

For more information, call the Chamber at 586-2155, visit www.mountainlovers.com/concerts-on-the-creek or Concerts on the Creek’s Facebook page.